May 8 Be Careful What You Ask For

Lord, I see what Job went through and I’m scared. For too long, we have been led to believe that if we live right, we’ll be blessed. In truth, though, blessings come from our relationship with You, not from wealth of this world. If Job suffered, though he was righteous; if Jesus suffered, though he was sinless, remind me that I am clay in Your hands to be molded, prepared and fired in the kiln if necessary for You.

Daily Enduring Truth

Acts 18; Judges 9; Job 38

We’ve all heard the phrase: “Be careful what you ask for, you may get it.” While it’s not in the Bible, I can’t help but think the first person to think these words, if not say them was Job. In his discussions with his friends, he continually sought an audience with God to seek to justify himself. The problem for Job was that God appeared – and when God spoke, it didn’t bode well for Job! “Then the LORD answered Job out of the storm. He said: ‘Who is this that darkens my counsel with words without knowledge? Brace yourself like a man; I will question you, and you shall answer me.’” (Job 38:1-3) As Job heard these words, his first thoughts must have been something like, “this isn’t going to go well.” Job didn’t understand the battle between Satan and God that brought…

View original post 315 more words